A Travellerspoint blog

Top Sights of the City

Sumy Street

sunny 20 °C
View European Bagpipe Festival & West-Ukrainian Lowlands & Virtual Tourist Euromeet 2017 & Exploring Russia & An Internship in the United States & Things to Do in Ukraine & Attractions in Luhansk Region, Ukraine & My Impressions of Germany & Amazing Italy & Attending a Business Seminar & Our Sub-Carpathian Region on Vic_IV's travel map.

Sumy Street

Sumy Street

Sumy Street is the main street of Kharkiv. It is not distinguished by its width, but has long been known among urban planners and architects as one of the most successful examples of solutions of the central part of a large city, the creation of the so-called "linear center" on its basis.
In spite of the considerable length of Sumy Street, it is not tiresome to walk along it because its buildings are very diverse, and on your way you can see lots of green areas, cour d'honneurs and monuments.

Sumy Street, Kharkiv, Ukraine

Sumy Street, Kharkiv, Ukraine

Sumy Street ("ulitsa Sumskaya" in Russian) is one of the oldest in the city and in the entire country. It dates back to the 17th century. The street was named after the city of Sumy that is the first big city on the way to the north. The zoo, located in this street, was dedicated in 1896 and is one of the oldest in the country.

Sumy Street

Sumy Street


f2e95c60-b813-11e9-80fc-f9fcbb4e0be8.jpg

Sumy Street was called Karl Liebknecht Street from 1924 to 1941. The street connects Constitution Square with Gorky Park and farther – with Forest Park. The street turns into Belgorod Highway near the Forest Park. Historically, the street was the road to the city of Sumy located to the northwest of Kharkiv. Liberty Square is adjacent to Sumy Street. The street is paved with stone blocks in the section from Poetry Park to Liberty Square.
The street is full of historical buildings, each of them having its own exciting history, such as the house at 44/2 Sumy Street that will inevitably catch your eye. This house was built more than a hundred years ago. It is located opposite the monument to Taras Shevchenko. In the years when Kharkiv was the capital of Soviet Ukraine, it housed the diplomatic missions of different countries and ministries. According to many architecture experts, this building can safely be called the most beautiful building in the main street. These experts add further that the building has long been in need of a serious renovation…
There are twelve official symbols of Kharkiv. They were approved by the Resolution of the Executive Committee of the Kharkiv City Council No. 384 dated April 12, 2000. Here is a list of those official symbols of Kharkiv:

7e864650-b834-11e9-8bca-510b8922adfb.jpg

  • 1) Mirror Stream;
  • 2) Annunciation Cathedral;
  • 3) Constitution Square:
  • 4) City Council building;
  • 5) Assumption Cathedral;
  • 6) Liberty Square;
  • 7) The State Industry Center;
  • 8) Shevchenko monument;
  • 9) Southern Station;
  • 10) Cathedral of Virgin Mary’s Protecting Veil;
  • 11) Ukraine Concert Hall;
  • 12) The National Academic Opera and Ballet Theater.

f2dc8b20-b813-11e9-87fe-9dc535ec6004.jpgf2ce5a50-b813-11e9-bfbc-bb63e3b08dbe.jpg
Sumy Street

  1. The Mirror Stream
Mirror Stream is considered one of the most beautiful symbols of Kharkov. Many couples and visitors come here to have their photo taken. You can take great pictures against the background of the dazzling white rotunda.

Mirror Stream, Kharkiv

Mirror Stream, Kharkiv

There are no special legends behind this monument and the stream. However, this place has a rich history. Mirror Stream appeared in Kharkiv in 1947.

Mirror Stream

Mirror Stream

Somewhere in the early 1700s, a cemetery church was built at this place. It was called Holy Myrrh Bearers Church. In 1792, in view of the expansion of residential areas, the cemetery was closed, and the church territory was expanded. Myrrh Bearers Church was demolished by the militant atheist authorities on March 11, 1930. In Soviet times, there was a plan to build a grand "Mass Action Musical Theatre". However, in 1934, after the capital of the Soviet Ukraine had been moved from Kharkiv to Kiev, the new construction site ended with putting into operation a huge trolleybus depot in the open air. In 1947, the trolleybus depot was replaced by a park with a fountain. The Mirror Stream was built in that park. It was a construction project similar to one in Kislovodsk, Russia, where the rotunda is called "Gazebo".

Mirror Stream

Mirror Stream

In the years of the Independent Ukraine, a new church with the same name was built on the place of the demolished one, and it is also called Holy Myrrh Bearers Church. The church was built in the Ukrainian Baroque style. It was consecrated on August 22, 2015. This church has a magnificent bell tower, the second largest in Kharkiv, after the bell tower of Assumption Cathedral.
Mirror Stream is a special place with an enchanting power for many locals. After all, it would seem there are lots of other beautiful places in Kharkiv, but the Mirror Stream somehow attracts people who have a sense of great satisfaction being here. No matter how busy you might be, you always want to stay here for a moment and plunge into the world of your own thoughts and dreams.
In the warmer months, especially after dark, the park behind the fountain is full of people. And it is not surprising, because after the reconstruction work of 2007, it changed beyond recognition and has become even more beautiful and beloved.

  1. Annunciation Cathedral
Annunciation Cathedral is a magnificent building, enclosed by a painted stone fence. The cathedral is illuminated by hundreds of lights in the evening. The style of the cathedral is characterized as a mixture of Russian, neo-Byzantine and Gothic traditions.

Annunciation  Cathedral

Annunciation Cathedral


4bca42e0-b828-11e9-9e8d-1f6e5a28d46c.jpg4b36b570-b828-11e9-af49-59440c967206.jpg
Annunciation  Cathedral

Annunciation Cathedral

Professor Mikhail Lovtsov (1850-1907), a famous Russian architect who lived and worked in Kharkiv, was known for his propensity to experiments. He boldly combined a variety of traditions in the same building. The cathedral was built in 1888-1901 as a traditional Moscow style five-domed temple. Professor Lovtsov was a genius of architecture. He gave the temple the ancient Byzantine hemispherical outline. The cathedral has massive dimensions: the front facade is 34 m long and the height is 59 m. The architect built an 80-meter-high pseudo-Gothic tiered belfry. The abundance of details and the polychrome solution of the facades with alternating horizontal rows of red brick and bright plaster created a kind of memorable appearance of the temple. The architect did not spare the donors’ money, paint and materials, and, as a result, the cathedral became a unique architectural monument, promising to stand for years to come.

Annunciation  Cathedral_an evening view

Annunciation Cathedral_an evening view


Annunciation  Cathedral

Annunciation Cathedral


4b58bc60-b828-11e9-a87f-b3101994e908.jpg4ae40190-b828-11e9-a87f-b3101994e908.jpg
Annunciation  Cathedral_18

Annunciation Cathedral_18

The central iconostasis made of white Carrara marble and its 29 icons, as well the side iconostases with their icons and murals, are very impressive. The side apses are dedicated to St. John the Warrior and the Great Martyr, St. Barbara the Great Martyr.
The cathedral bell tower deserves a special mention. In 1901, when the cathedral was consecrated, it had the highest belfry at that time: its height was 80 meters. The belfry was attacked by the forces of nature several times and, unfortunately, could not withstand them. The cross on the belfry dome fell two times: on July 1, 1974, a sudden tornado hit the iron cross of the belfry and it fell to the ground. The belfry dome cross fell for the second time because of the fire on June 2, 1997. However, it only made the belfry stronger and higher. The new design, which can be seen from different points of the city, is a 90-meter-high belfry that became a worthy ornament of such a majestic cathedral.
The main celebrations of the cathedral are:

  • April 7 - Annunciation Day;
  • December 17 - St. Barbara’s Feast Day;
  • August 12 – Warrior St. John the Great Martyr’s Feast Day;
  • November 12 – the day of Ozeriana icon of the Mother of God.

St. Athanasius, or Athanasius the Sessile

St. Athanasius, or Athanasius the Sessile


A booklet about St.Athanasius

A booklet about St.Athanasius

Coming to Annunciation Cathedral, you see really see that there are so many wonders around us. It was a miracle to venerate the relics of St. Athanasius. You are sure to feel the fertile energy coming from him; such power ... Words fails me… Allow some time to pay a visit to Holy Annunciation Cathedral and to feel it. You can buy some oil sanctified by his relics. Feel his miraculous power on yourself.
Many pilgrims and visitors of the city know there are relics of St. Athanasius at Annunciation Cathedral.

Icon of St.Athanasius

Icon of St.Athanasius

During the years of Ottoman Empire’s dictatorship, Athanasius (1597-1654) was elected the Patriarch of Constantinople as Athanasius III Patelaros two times: in 1634 as the 193th Patriarch of Constantinople, and in 1652 as the 200th Patriarch of Constantinople. He went on a mission to Moscow in 1654 and died at Lubny monastery, the present Poltava region, on his way back.
The people refer to St. Athanasius as Athanasius the Sessile. He was Greek, so he was buried according to the custom of the Eastern Patriarchs - in a sitting position. The relics of the saint were discovered incorrupt. He was canonized in 1662. Believers come to St. Athanasius with all sorts of diseases and nervous disorders. Now St. Athanasius is the world's only saint sitting on the throne.
St. Athanasius is officially called St.Athanasius the Miracle-Maker of Lubny and Kharkiv. According to many parishioners, St. Athanasius even walks at night. When the priests change his attire, they see that his slippers are worn out. His relics are fragrant during the great church holidays. Different fragrance comes from them. You might think that it is spread by some flavors, but the temple officials say that it is the fragrance of the relics.
May 15 is the memorial day of St. Athanasius.
Also, the cathedral has two other relics of saints: the relics of St. Miletus and of St. Alexander Petrovsky the Holy Martyr.

  1. Constitution Square
This square it is 550 m long. It was founded in 1659 as the first city square. At first it was called Fair Square since traditional annual fairs were held there. Then it was called St. Nickolas Square after St. Nickolas Church that stood there until 1930. Then the Bolsheviks renamed it into Tevelev Square. From 1975 till 1996 it was called Soviet Ukraine Square.

Constitution Square Kharkiv

Constitution Square Kharkiv


f1896d80-b82f-11e9-a140-cde00574dc95.jpg
f16fcb00-b82f-11e9-af1d-bb26d5b51081.jpgf1837a10-b82f-11e9-b837-191034638947.jpg

Independence Monument in Constitution Square attracted our attention. We found out that it had been dedicated on August 22, 2012 to commemorate the tenth anniversary of the independence of Ukraine. The monument symbolizes the age-old dream of our ancestors about freedom, the centuries-old struggle for independence and, at the same time, the desire and the will of the modern Ukrainians to new victories and achievements.

Independence monument

Independence monument


The 8-meter-high pedestal has strict geometric shapes with facing slabs made of grey granite. The pedestal contains a bronze image of the country’s coat-of-arms and an inscription "Glory to Ukraine!" Also, Italian designer lamps were installed.

Independence monument

Independence monument

A 6-feet bronze sculpture of a winged woman, reminiscent of the ancient Greek goddess of victory Nike stands on a 2.5-meter-tall bronze globe. The total height of the monument is 16.5 meters.

Independence monument

Independence monument

As Oleksandr Ridnyi, the author of the monument, explained, “The woman is an allegorical figure of independence, by analogy with the Statue of Liberty. That is not an ethnic independence of Ukraine, but a kind of a performance in prose. In 1991, Ukraine's independence was proclaimed not in some kind of a bloody war, but as a gift of fate. And this female figure, symbolizing the independent Ukraine, looks as if it came down to us from heaven...” He added, "This is an allegorical sculpture. We were lucky: the Winged Nike, the goddess of victory, flew to us without a war. But at any moment, she may flinch and take off! Therefore, it must be kept firmly."
Believe it or not, but the witty locals at once nicknamed the monument as "Nike on a Sphere".
Here is a short Youtube video about the monument.
In April 2015, local patriots attached the flag of Ukraine to Nike’s hand to show their deep respect for their country, although, IMHO, a state flag cannot be used to embellish monuments or sculptures, no matter how much you might respect your own country. The monument itself contains enough sense and does not need any further attachments.
Metro stations "Historical Museum" and "Constitution Square" are located in the immediate vicinity of the monument. To reach the "Constitution Square" bus stop, you can also take city buses of the following routes: 78, 88, 89, 118, 217, 218, 219, 241, 249, 269, and 272.

  1. Assumption Cathedral

Assumption Cathedral

Assumption Cathedral

Assumption Cathedral is one of the oldest Orthodox churches in Kharkiv. It was the first city cathedral. It was built in 1685-1687 and was rebuilt several times later. The cathedral bell tower is 89.5 meters high. It is the second highest bell tower in Ukraine.

Assumption Cathedral

Assumption Cathedral

The massive bell tower completed in 1844 became the main dominant of the historical center of Kharkiv. It is still one of the tallest buildings in the city with its height of about 90 meters. The belfry is pleasing to the eye with its harmony of proportions and the purity of its forms. The complex architecture of Assumption Cathedral incorporated the bell tower, combining the two styles of past epochs - Baroque and Classicism.

Assumption Cathedral

Assumption Cathedral

The inscription on the memorial plaque on the belfry wall reads,

"St. Alexander Nevsky Belfry was built by diligent city residents to celebrate the victory in the Patriotic War of 1812, the appreciation of God for saving Russia from Napoleon's invasion and the entry of Russian troops into Paris".

The cathedral was closed by the godless Bolshevik authorities in 1924. In 1929, it was partially disassembled. In the fifties - eighties of the last century, it underwent a comprehensive restoration with the aim of using the building as a concert hall in the future, owing to its excellent acoustics. Since 1986, it was used as the House of Organ and Chamber Music of the Kharkiv Regional Philharmonic Society.

7e84bfb0-b834-11e9-b1ea-5dcf1b7e17d3.jpg

Since 1990, Divine Liturgy has been held by the Ukrainian Orthodox Church (Moscow Patriarchate) on the second floor of the building . As the church dean told us, there were plans to move the Philharmonic House of Organ and Chamber Music to the building of the Philharmonic Society, where the premises had been prepared, and to return the entire church building to the Ukrainian Orthodox Church. As a result, the last concert at the big hall of this cathedral was held on November 13, 2016.

On August 19, 2016, a new Hall of Organ and Chamber Music was dedicated in the building of Kharkiv Philharmonic Society. Aleksander Schulke Company from Germany installed the new organ. According to the director of the Philharmonic Society, Yuri Yanko, the total value of the new organ comprised 1.2 million Euros. This amount does not include the payment of customs duties, installation and configuration tools.

  1. Liberty Square
Liberty Square is the central square in the city. The square was built in 1925-1928 and was paved in 1930-1931. This square is the largest in Ukraine, the sixth largest square of Europe and the fifteenth largest in the world. Its area is 11.9 hectares. Its biggest length is 960 meters, its main length is 750 meters and its width is 125 meters. It was called Dzerzhinsky Square until 1990.

Liberty Square

Liberty Square

The square has the form of a converter whose neck is turned to Sumy Street. You will see Kharkiv Palace Hotel, lots of stores, and cafes nearby. This is where the first Ukrainian skyscrapers were built, among them the university campus buildings and the famous 13-storey State Industry Headquarters ("Derzh prom" in Ukrainian).

4b1f9810-b835-11e9-a71d-edee6c2c51a5.jpg4b04bd10-b835-11e9-949c-65613428381a.jpg
Liberty Square

Liberty Square

4aed1660-b835-11e9-949c-65613428381a.jpg

Liberty Square in Kharkiv has long been the center of traditional folk festivals and celebrations. Huge in size, it attracts thousands of residents and visitors to the city during unforgettable holiday concerts. The square can provide space for over 350,000 spectators. The largest number of people - more than 250 thousand - gathered here on September 12, 2008, when the legendary Queen band performed there.
For New Year's Day and Christmas celebrations a huge Christmas tree is installed in this square. The school-leavers celebrate their graduation here. Festive concerts dedicated to Independence Day and City Day are held here as well.
You can get to this square by subway, if you get off at University Station or Derzhprom Station. In fact, the square is above both stations.
Liberty Square of the Official City Symbol No.6 out of the twelve official symbols of Kharkiv. They were approved by the Resolution of the Executive Committee of the Kharkiv City Council No. 384 dated April 12, 2000.

  1. The State Industry Headquarters

castles.com.ua canvas_1930

castles.com.ua canvas_1930

The complex of buildings houses the State Industry Headquarters (“derzh prom” in Ukrainian). It was erected in Liberty Square in 1928 and became the core of the new administrative center of Kharkiv, the then capital of the Soviet Ukraine. The House of State Industry was designed for "Parity Partnership for the construction and operation of state-owned buildings in the city of Kharkiv". This partnership included twenty-two state-owned trusts, as well as the Industrial Bank of the Ukrainian Soviet Socialist Republic. It was called "Gosprom" in Russian and "Derzh Prom" in Ukrainian. This business center, as it were, became the country's first high-rise reinforced concrete building.

State Indurty Headquarters

State Indurty Headquarters

This architectural complex is 63 meters high. According to statistics, the useful floor area of this complex is 60,000 sq.m. By the way, the World Architectural Encyclopedia used the image of this building to illustrate its article called "Constructivism".

State Indurty Headquarters

State Indurty Headquarters

The building was designed by a Leningrad group of architects in a fashionable style of constructivism that was considered an advanced style at that time. The construction under the supervision of Pavel Rottert (1880-1954) was completed in a record time - within three years. Truth be told, Lazar Kaganovich (1893-1991), who was the first person in Ukraine in 1925-1927, could be called the chief architect of this giant building. His ambitions to make the capital of Ukraine even more sophisticated than Moscow led to a total reorganization of the center of Kharkiv. FYI, here is a short Youtube video about Kaganovich.

State Industry Headquarters

State Industry Headquarters

Until 1934, the building housed the Council of People's Commissars (the government) of the Soviet Ukraine. In 1955, one of the first Soviet television towers (45 meters high) was installed on the roof of the building. Now the building houses administrative bodies and many offices of a great number of companies.
The structure of this building is very special indeed. It consists of three H-shaped blocks with long, radially enclosed buildings. They are interconnected at different levels with covered transitional bridging galleries. Each of these blocks includes several composite buildings. In addition to the offices, in the Soviet times there was a general meeting room, a dining room, and a library.
There is the Derzh Prom Museum in the 5th entrance. It was established in 1980 with the assistance of the Kharkiv writer and enthusiast Edward Zvonitsky (1938-2009). They say when the gigantic building was handed over in 1929, it caused a global boom. In 1928, many famous people came to Kharkiv to take a look at the gigantic construction. Theodore Dreiser called it "a miracle seen in Kharkiv". Maxim Gorky said,

"This is a wonderful harmony, an expression of the mighty spirit of the working class. My dear comrades, my dear ones! Firmly, high, broadly continue the construction!"

Henry Barbus wrote an article about this construction in the Parisian "Mond". He called his article "The Mountain House".
And the Soviet poet Vladimir Mayakovsky wrote,

"There, where ravens used to fight for the animals' dead bodies,
The Ukrainian Kharkiv is the buzzing capital now,
It stands bandaged in the groundwork of railways,
A living, labor, reinforced concrete city".

This complex is on the preliminary list of UNESCO World Heritage Sites now.

  1. Taras Shevchenko Monument
Taras Shevchenko monument is considered one of the brightest and most beautiful monuments of Kharkiv. This is not just a monument, but also an exquisite composition with a special meaning.

Taras Shevchenko monument

Taras Shevchenko monument

In 1930, the first international competition with the aim of selecting the best ideas and sketches of the future Shevchenko monument was held. The competition received many works of the most famous sculptors of the time. However, the honor to create a symbol of Kharkiv was received by Mathew Manizer (1891-1966). The Soviet sculptor Matvey Manizer and the architect Joseph Langbard are the authors of the monument. The monument was inaugurated on March 24, 1935, that is, nine months after Kharkiv had ceased to be the capital of the Ukrainian Soviet Socialist Republic. In general, the art style of the monument can be defined as socialist realism and Stalinist Baroque. The interpretation of the personality of Taras Shevchenko was made in the Soviet style - as an ideological fighter for the happiness of the common people, and a revolutionary poet.
The total height of the monument is 16.5 meters. The bronze statue of the poet is 5.5 meters high. It stands on a pylon made of black labradorite. The statues of the monumental ensemble are united by the idea of people's struggle for their freedom that was glorified in Shevchenko’s works. We can see sixteen different sculptures here. They stand on a spiral staircase around the pedestal.

Taras Shevchenko monument

Taras Shevchenko monument


80e9dc00-b838-11e9-949c-65613428381a.jpg
80df2da0-b838-11e9-a71d-edee6c2c51a5.jpg

Catherine sculpture represents a young lady with a baby in her arms. This young lady is known as Catherine, the main character of Shevchenko’s homonymous poem. This sculpture is the embodiment of the image of women and mothers who are under the burden of loneliness and despair.
You can see several sculptural compositions here. The first one contains three sculptures: a dying Cossack warrior called a Haidamak, a Haidamak with a scythe, and a Cossack who is tearing his shackles. All the three figures are linked both ideologically and thematically. They refer us to Shevchenko’s poem “The Haidamaks" where the poet described the tragic events of the Cossacks Uprising of 1768 that was, in fact, a war of the Russian-Polish union against the freedom-loving Cossacks. These sculptures represent the life-affirming belief in the invincibility of the national spirit and people’s faith in their victory. The Bound Cossack sculpture is especially impressive. It is one of the statues which transmit patriotic, multi-faceted character of the hero, embody the people's power and greatness, sorrow and pain.
The second sculptural composition consists of three sculptures: a woman peasant, a peasant carrying a millstone, and a peasant soldier. These images of members of different strata of the working people embody the idea of people’s suffering because of the tsarist regime.
The third sculptural composition consists of three sculptures: a worker with a lowered flag, a student, and a worker with a rifle. These statues depict the images of people who revolted during the social upheavals of the first decades of the twentieth century.
The fourth composition contains the following sculptures: a farmer, a coalminer, and a lady with a book. According to the author, the figures of this group were designed to convey the changes that had taken place in the Soviet society.

80b97d30-b838-11e9-949c-65613428381a.jpg80afe040-b838-11e9-a71d-edee6c2c51a5.jpg
Shevchenko monument on the mosaics at the railway station

Shevchenko monument on the mosaics at the railway station


City tour guides enthusiastically tell visitors about many interesting facts such as:

> - 30 tons of bronze and 400 tons of labradorite were used for manufacture of the monument;
> - a narrow-gauge railway was specially built for its construction;
> - 200 workers of different specialties worked there;
> - before WWII, it was considered the largest bronze monument in the USSR;
> - it is still one of the best Shevchenko monuments in the world.

  1. Southern Railway Station
Southern Station, whose official name is Kharkiv Passenger Station, is the main passenger railway station of the Southern Railroad in Kharkiv. The railroad has been called like that since the good old Soviet times with an implication that it is south of the Kremlin.

Southern Railway Station

Southern Railway Station

The railway station is located in Cold Mountain District of the city. It is also one of the most important transportation hubs in Eastern Ukraine.
The building of the station is an architectural masterpiece of the Stalin era's Empire style. Its construction was completed in 1952. The entire complex of buildings was dedicated on November 2, 1952. A bas-relief with that year can be seen high on the right tower of the building. That tower is also called Northern Tower. The left tower is a clock tower. The clock tower, also called Southern Tower, has a clock whose diameter is 4.25 m. The towers are 42 meters high. The railway station has exquisite interior and the hall is 26 meters high.

2326d700-b83b-11e9-9e85-b1f1a13fa38a.jpg2328d2d0-b83b-11e9-9020-b185d0a65f3e.jpg
Southern Railway Station_a roof sculpture of a peasant woman and a soldier

Southern Railway Station_a roof sculpture of a peasant woman and a soldier


Southern Railway Station

Southern Railway Station


Southern Railway Station

Southern Railway Station

This Empire style building is a masterpiece of the Stalin era. Its dimensions are 270 m x 25 m. It is located perpendicular to the city’s main western thoroughfare – Poltava Trail. The main entrance of the station is a ten-column portico in the Corinthian style. We admired the rich and varied overall decoration of the building: profiled cornices, pilasters, window frames, two sculptural groups, arches, cornered vial of towers, graceful balustrades of parapets, and stucco decor.

Southern Railway Station

Southern Railway Station


23828b90-b83b-11e9-9bab-bf562fa17424.jpg23854ab0-b83b-11e9-9e85-b1f1a13fa38a.jpg
Southern Railway Station

Southern Railway Station


Southern Railway Station

Southern Railway Station


23330c00-b83b-11e9-ba1d-abce0209cd6f.jpg2324b420-b83b-11e9-b7fe-51dbe5c58638.jpg

Southern Station became the ninth out of the twelve official symbols of Kharkiv.
Railway Station Square is one of the most picturesque areas of Kharkiv. Its flowerbeds are full of flowers from spring to autumn; its noisy fountain gives you a breath of fresh air and lots of joy in the sultry summer afternoon.
Railway Station Square is a great place where passengers can sit waiting for their trains to avoid sitting in a stuffy waiting room inside the building of the railway station.

Southern Railway Station Square

Southern Railway Station Square


Southern Railway Station Square

Southern Railway Station Square


23728600-b83b-11e9-9020-b185d0a65f3e.jpg2316f880-b83b-11e9-aaa8-23ed9c65cc01.jpg

At night, the area is well lit. The railway station building and the railway management building are lit with different shining colours. The strict building of the former main post office (now post-office No.52, built in 1927-1929) whose windows are lit with brightly with wide fluorescent lamps is reminiscent of the industrial past of Kharkiv. The entrance to Southern Station of Kharkiv Metro is on this square as well.
You can see an interesting monument at Platform No.1. It is dedicated to one of the characters of “Twelve Chairs” novel of the Soviet writers Ilia Ilf and Yevgeny Petrov written in 1927.

Southern Railway Station_the monument to Father Fiodor from Twelve Chairs

Southern Railway Station_the monument to Father Fiodor from Twelve Chairs


Southern Railway Station_the monument to Father Fiodor from Twelve Chairs

Southern Railway Station_the monument to Father Fiodor from Twelve Chairs

The sculpture depicts Father Fiodor in motion, he holds a kettle in his left hand, and a sealed envelope with a letter in his right hand. On the pedestal, there is a quote from his letter to his wife: "Kharkov is a bustling city, the center of the Ukrainian Republic. After the province, it seems as though I found myself abroad”.

  1. The Men's Monastery
The Monastery of Virgin Mary’s Protecting Veil is the oldest stone building in Kharkiv. It was built in 1689 and initially functioned as a parish church. In 1992, the temple was returned to the church along with the entire architectural complex of the monastery.

Monastery of Virgin Mary's Protecting Veil

Monastery of Virgin Mary's Protecting Veil

Virgin Mary’s Protecting Veil Monastery is the tenth out of the twelve official symbols of Kharkiv. This monastery is located near Constitution Square. To get to it, you can use the subway and get off at History Museum Station.

45f07df0-b83f-11e9-9249-631bd9a277ef.jpg45eb4dd0-b83f-11e9-a1d7-5f346a6c4162.jpg
Monastery of Virgin Mary's Protecting Veil

Monastery of Virgin Mary's Protecting Veil


458e60c0-b83f-11e9-ae5f-ad26b0c7d34f.jpg459601e0-b83f-11e9-b4cb-691e3913a48e.jpg

45eb4dd0-b83f-11e9-a1d7-5f346a6c4162.jpg

The monastery was replenished with unique shrines:
- A kiot (a glazed drawer or a frame for icons) with the holy relics and stones from the Holy Land, including a part of the Life-Giving Cross of the Lord, stones from the Holy Mount Calvary, Mount Sinai, the Holy Sepulchre, Mount Tabor, the Mother of God’s Sepulchre, the forty days of prayer stone.
- Particles of the holy relics: of the holy Prophet and Forerunner John the Baptist, Apostle St. Andrew, the Holy Apostle and Evangelist St. Luke, St Mary Magdalene, St. John Chrysostom, St. Gregory the Theologian, St. Basil the Great, St. Barbara, St. Sergius of Radonezh, St. Panteleimon the Great Martyr and many others, all in all over 50 relics.

459565a0-b83f-11e9-902c-cd59be453c4c.jpg45a4cef0-b83f-11e9-8e24-77e5975d3c30.jpg
Monastery of Virgin Mary's Protecting Veil in Kharkiv, Ukraine

Monastery of Virgin Mary's Protecting Veil in Kharkiv, Ukraine


45504650-b83f-11e9-8e24-77e5975d3c30.jpg455687e0-b83f-11e9-ae5f-ad26b0c7d34f.jpg

463e01b0-b83f-11e9-b73b-9f70a2701fed.jpg

Virgin Mary’s Protecting Veil Cathedral is a valuable monument of the Ukrainian architecture of the second half of the 17th century. This baroque three-dome church looks like a fortress. It represents the typical Russian church architecture. The tent belfry looks very impressive and light. The parts of the church building, as it seems, grow out of each other easily ascending the top. This church is the oldest surviving stone structure of the city. It is often called the crown of the Ukrainian architecture of the 17th century. The temple has a lucky location and looks, as if it is floating above the picturesque valley of the rivers the Kharkiv and the Lopan. It is located on the territory of the men's monastery.
The main feast days:
September 27 - Exaltation of the Holy Cross Day;
October 9 - Repose of St. John the Evangelist;
November 8 – the Feast day of St. Demetrius of Thessalonica the Great Holy Martyr;
November 12 – Virgin Mary’s Ozeriana icon Day.
May 21 - Apostle and Evangelist John the Theologian.
Each time we came to this place, we bought "monks' pies" at the kiosk. You can choose different filling for your pies and have them with some tea of coffee at the stand-up bar. Therefore, we often dropped in at "the monks" to have a bite...

Monastery of Virgin Mary's Protecting Veil

Monastery of Virgin Mary's Protecting Veil

  1. Ukraine Concert Hall

Ukraine Concert Hall Kharkiv

Ukraine Concert Hall Kharkiv

Ukraine Concert Hall is the main concert hall in the city center at 35 Sumy Street. It is located in Shevchenko Park and in a place very convenient for visitors and spectators. It is close to all means of public transport (tram, trolleybus, subway). The concert hall is not far from University Subway Station and Derzhprom Subway Station. The Russian/Ukrainian abbreviation for this concert hall is KK3 ("movie and concert hall"). Show it to your cab driver and add "Ukrayina".
This concert hall is known for its numerous concerts, organization of festivals, seminars, competitions, and students’ variety theater performances called KVN here.
This concert hall has a seating capacity of 1,780 seats.
Every year, Ukraine Concert Hall hosts many events, conferences, festivals, concerts, contests and tours, opening and closing ceremonies of festivals, concerts of the best creative teams of culture and education sectors of the city, concerts of Ukrainian and Russian pop singers, festive celebrations and parties for the city residents. Tel. +38 057 705 08 21 (booking-office); +38 057 705 08 16; +38 057 705 08 15. Website: Ukraine Concert Hall.

  1. Opera and Ballet Theater
The National Academic Opera and Ballet Theater is located opposite the Mirror Stream at 25 Sumy Street. The theater is called after Mykola Lyssenko, an outstanding Ukrainian composer.

Opera and Ballet Theater

Opera and Ballet Theater

If you follow the repertoire, you can see many interesting opera and ballet performances such as "Cinderella" Cinderella or Robin Hood musical, as well as different exhibitions, art projects and shows in the theatre lobby.

Opera and Ballet Theater

Opera and Ballet Theater

The big hall seats about 1,500 grateful and excited spectatorsYou can see a very special sculptural composition at the entrance to the booking-office. It is called "Music of Mykola Lyssenko". The fountains at the entrance to the theatre are sure to catch your eye, especially in the evening.
Visitors can take part in a theater tour. Call them at +38 057 700 39 87 to reserve a tour.

Opera and Ballet Theater

Opera and Ballet Theater

The theater has a website, and you can contact them via the contact page. The last box is a question, ”How many words are there in the short name of the theater: XHATOB?”

Posted by Vic_IV 07:22 Archived in Ukraine

Email this entryFacebookStumbleUpon

Table of contents

Be the first to comment on this entry.

This blog requires you to be a logged in member of Travellerspoint to place comments.

Login